Skip to Main Navigation


Executive Director Office Websites
Select a Country selecting option, leaving this page
Select an Office Code selecting option, leaving this page
Select a EDS Sub navigation page selecting option, leaving this page


EDS14 is the Office of the Executive Director for Africa Group 1 (AFG1) Constituency at the World Bank Group (WBG) Executive Board. The AFG1 Constituency 22 countries are Botswana, Burundi, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The Office has a dual responsibility. The first is to represent the interests of these Constituency members at the Executive Board of the WBG and to liaise with the respective Governors on issues relevant to the entire constituency or to a particular member of the constituency. As such, the Office supports dialogue between the WBG and our constituency countries and engages in consultations with other Executive Directors and Management to support efforts to achieve the twin goals of reducing extreme poverty to 3 percent by 2030 and promoting income growth of the bottom 40 percent in a sustainable manner.

The Office also has a fiduciary responsibility, to act in the best interests of the organization as a whole. The Board is responsible for the conduct of the general operations of the Bank, providing overall guidance to Management on strategic directions, exercising oversight over operational, financial, and institutional matters, and approving the use of financial resources by all WBG entities and policies that impact the organization’s general operations and use of resources.

The Executive Director for EDS14 currently serves as the Member of the Budget Committee (BC) and the Human Resources Committee (HRC).

The Executive Director is supported by the Alternate Executive Director, Senior Advisors and Advisors, who review and provide advice on policies, strategies and projects presented for consideration and approval by the Executive Board. The Office also comprises a senior executive assistant and program assistants who provide administrative support.