African Governors Caucus

February 2, 2016

African Caucus Meeting

African Governors Caucus

The African Caucus was established in 1963, as the “African Group,” with the objective of strengthening the voice of African Governors in the Bretton Woods Institutions (BWIs), i.e. the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank Group (WBG), on development issues of particular interest to Africa. Membership to the Caucus is open to all African Countries who are members of the IMF and WBG, currently all the 54 countries on the African continent. The countries are represented by their respective Governors at these institutions, commonly referred to as the African Governors, who are usually Ministers of finance and economic development, and Central Banks Governors.

Views and concerns of African Governors are conveyed to the heads of the BWIs through a Memorandum and that is done annually at the Annual Meetings of the two institutions. The first such Memorandum dates back to September 11, 1964 and that was delivered to the heads of the BWIs at the occasion of the 1964 Annual Meetings in Tokyo, Japan.

The African Caucus meets twice yearly; first, in the host country of the Chairperson of the Caucus and secondly, at the venue of the Annual Meetings of the IMF and WBG.

Secretarial services for the Caucus are provided by Offices of Executive Directors at the IMF and the WBG. At any given time it is the Office of the Executive Director that corresponds to the Constituency of the Chairperson that serves as the Secretariat. Usually, the Secretariat also alternates between the IMF and the WBG.

" The first such Memorandum dates back to September 11, 1964 "