BRIEF

Macroeconomics, Trade, and Finance Seminar Series


Image

The Macro, Trade, and Finance Seminar Series is a weekly series hosted by the World Bank's research department. The series invites leading researchers from the fields of macroeconomics, growth, trade, international integration, and finance to present the results of their most recent research in a seminar format.

Schedule of Seminars

         
Date Time  Venue Speaker Paper
Wednesday, December 13 12:30 - 2:00 pm   Peter Schott (Yale)  
Wednesday, December 6 12:00 - 1:30 pm   Nina Pavcnik (Dartmouth)  
Thursday, November 30 12:30 - 2:00 pm   TBD  
Thursday, November 16 12:30 - 2:00 pm   Giovanni Maggi (Yale)  
Thursday, November 9 12:30 - 2:00 pm   David Atkin (MIT)  
Wednesday, November 1 12:30 - 2:00 pm   Berthold Herrendorf (Arizona State)  
Thursday, October 26 12:30 - 2:00 pm   Pascual Restrepo (Boston University) Robots and Jobs: Evidence from US Labor Markets
Thursday, October 19 2:00 - 3:30 pm MC 3-570 Sara Moreira (Northwestern) Firm Dynamics, Persistent Effects of Entry Conditions, and Business Cycles
Wednesday, October 4 12:00 - 1:30 pm IMF HQ1 10-713 Javier Bianchi (Minneapolis Fed) Exchange Rate Policies at the Zero Lower Bound
Thursday, September 28 12:30 - 2:00 pm MC 7-100 Fernando Parro (JHU) Goods and Factor Market Integration: A Quantitative Assessment of the EU Enlargement
Thursday, September 21 12:30 - 2:00 pm MC 4-100 Anton Korinek (JHU) Currency Wars or Efficient Spillovers? A General Theory of International Policy Cooperation
Thursday, September 14 12:30 - 2:00 pm MC 8-100 Jessica Leight Exporting out of agriculture: The impact of WTO accession on structural transformation in China
Thursday, August 31 12:30 – 2:00 pm MC 4-100 Jonathan Vogel, UCLA Tradability and the Labor-Market Impact of Immigration: Theory and Evidence from the U.S.
Thursday, June 29 12:30 – 2:00 pm MC 10 -100 John McLaren, University of Virginia NAFTA and the Gender Wage Gap
Thursday, June 15  12:30 – 2:00 pm   MC 10 -100 Felipe Saffie, University of Maryland Too Big to Pay: Tax Benefits and Corporate Lobbying
Wednesday, June 7 12:00 – 1:30 pm IMF HQ1 10-713 Luigi Bocola, Northwestern University Financial Crises and Lending of Last Resort in Open Economies
Thursday, June 1, 2017 12:30 – 2:00 pm  MC 10-100 Virgiliu Midrigan, New York University Human Capital and Financial Development
Thursday, May 18, 2017 12:30 – 2:00 pm   MC 10-100 Rodrigo Rodrigues Adao, Princeton University Trade Openness, Agglomeration Effects, and the Labor Market
Thursday, May 11, 2017 12:30 – 2:00 pm MC 6-100 Andres Rodriguez Clare, Princeton University The Intensive Margin in Trade

 

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

12:30 – 2:00 pm   MC 4 -100 Yongseok Shin, Washington University St. Louis Horizontal and Vertical Polarization: Task-Specific Technological Change in a Multi-Sector Economy
Thursday, April 27, 2017 12:30 -2:00 pm MC6-100 Hiau Looi Kee, World Bank Non-Tariff Measures and Trade Agreements
Thursday, April 13, 2017 12:30 -2:00 pm MC 8-100

Joel David, University of Southern California

Capital Misallocation: Frictions or Distortions?

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 12:00 - 1:30 pm 

IMF HQ 1 10-713

Cristina Arellano, Minneapolis Fed

Sovereign Default Risk and Firm Heterogeneity
March 30, 2017 12:30 -2:00 pm   MC 10-100 Brian McCaig, Wilfred Laurier University forthcoming
March 23, 2017  12:30 -2:00 pm  

MC 7-370

Paulina Restrepo Etcheverria, St. Louis Fed forthcoming
March 15, 2017  12:30 -2:00 pm   MC C2-135 Adam Storeygard, Tufts University

The Global Spatial Distribution of
Economic Activity: Nature, History, and the Role of Trade

March 01, 2017 12:30 -2:00 pm   MC 4-100
Fernando Leibovici, York University Financial Frictions and Export Dynamics in Large Devaluations

 

MC 8-100 
forthcoming