Skip to Main Navigation

Meet the Inspection Panel Members

World Bank Inspection Panel Members

Panel Members Ramanie Kunanayagam, Mark Goldsmith and Imrana Jalal (Chair)

The three members of the Inspection Panel are appointed by the Board of Executive Directors for non-renewable terms of five years. As provided in the Resolution that established the Panel, members are selected on the basis of their ability to deal thoroughly and fairly with the Requests for Inspection brought to them, their integrity, their independence from World Bank management, and their exposure to development issues and to living conditions in developing countries.

The Panel’s structure and operations further safeguard its independence. It is functionally independent of World Bank management and reports solely to the Board of Executive Directors. In addition, Panel members are prohibited from ever working for the Bank after their terms end. 


Panel Member Imrana Jalal

Imrana Jalal

Panel Chair



Ramanie Kunanayagam

Panel Member



Mark Goldsmith

Panel Member