BRIEF

Shock Waves: Managing the Impacts of Climate Change on Poverty - Background Papers

November 8, 2015

World Bank Group

The report “Shock Waves: Managing the Impacts of Climate Change on Poverty” commissioned 14 background papers in collaboration with research institutions across the globe to provide the report with innovative analyses to provide insights on the relationship between climate change and poverty. These papers examined the impacts of climate change on poverty, through agriculture, ecosystems, natural disasters, and health, as well as strategies to reduce these impacts. While we cannot do justice to each paper through the report itself, this page provides full access to the papers commissioned so interested readers can delve into the full details behind each analysis.   


Download and read the background papers:

 

1) The impacts of climate change on poverty in 2030, and the potential from rapid, inclusive and climate-smart development

Authors: Julie Rozenberg (jrozenberg@worldbank.org) and Stephane Hallegatte

2) Climate change impacts and mitigation in the developing world: An integrated assessment of the agriculture and forestry sectors

Authors: Petr Havlík (havlikpt@iiasa.ac.at), Hugo Valin, Mykola Gusti, Erwin Schmid, David Leclère, Nicklas Forsell, Mario Herrero, Nikolay Khabarov, Aline Mosnier, Matthew Cantele, and Michael Obersteiner

3) The impact of climate change on costs of food and people exposed to hunger at subnational scale

Authors: Anne Biewald (biewald@pik-potsdam.de), Hermann Lotze-Campen, Ilona Otto, Nils Brinckmann, Benjamin Bodirsky, Isabelle Weindl, Alexander Popp, and Hans Joachim Schellnhuber

4) Climate change impacts on rural poverty in low-elevation coastal zones

Author: Edward B. Barbier (EBarbier@uwyo.edu)

5) Responses to weather and climate: A cross-section analysis of rural incomes

Authors: Frederik Noack (frederik.noack@gmx.de), Sven Wunder, Arild Angelsen, and Jan Börner

6) Environmental reliance, climate exposure and vulnerability: a cross-section analysis of structural and stochastic poverty

Authors: Arild Angelsen (arild.angelsen@nmbu.no) and Therese Dokken

7) Disaster risk, climate change, and poverty: assessing the global exposure of poor people to floods and droughts

Authors: Hessel Winsemius (Hessel.Winsemius@deltares.nl), Brenden Jongman, Ted Veldkamp, Stephane Hallegatte, Mook Bangalore, and Philip J. Ward

8) The Exposure, Vulnerability and Ability to Respond of Poor Households to Recurrent Floods in Mumbai

Author: Archana Patankar (archana.patankar09@gmail.com)

9) Households and Heat Stress: Estimating the Distributional Consequences of Climate Change

Authors: Jisung Park (jisungpark@fas.harvard.edu), Stephane Hallegatte, Mook Bangalore, and Evan Sandhoefner

10) Social Protection and Disaster Risk Management in the Philippines: The Case of Typhoon Yolanda (Haiyan)

Author:Thomas Bowen (tbowen@worldbank.org)

11) Social Protection in the Face of Climate Change: Targeting Principles and Financing Mechanisms

Authors: Michael R. Carter (mrcarter@primal.ucdavis.edu) and Sarah A. Janzen

12) Climate constraints on the carbon intensity of economic growth

Authors: Julie Rozenberg (jrozenberg@worldbank.org), Steven J Davis, Ulf Narloch and Stephane Hallegatte

13) The Role of Inequality in Climate-Poverty Debates

Author: Petra Tschakert (petra@psu.edu)

14) Ethiopia’s Food Security Program: Social protection, disaster risk management and climate change adaptation

Authors: Kelly Johnson (kjohnson2@worldbank.org) and Thomas Bowen

 

Last Updated: May 18, 2016


Image