UN Secretary-General and World Bank President Name Sustainable Energy for All Advisory Board members

April 20, 2013

Heads of UN and World Bank name team to mobilize action toward universal energy access, doubling of renewables and doubling of energy efficiency rates

New York and Washington, April 19, 2013 – United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon and World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim today announced the members of the Advisory Board for the Sustainable Energy for All Initiative, kicking off a major new phase of activity for this global public-private partnership.

The Advisory Board of the Sustainable Energy for All initiative includes distinguished global leaders in business, finance, governments, and civil society. The launch of the Board, co-chaired by the Secretary-General and the President of the World Bank, marks the first time the two leaders have jointly led such an effort, underscoring the emphasis each institution places on providing sustainable energy for all.

“Sustainable energy is the golden thread that connects economic growth, social equity, and a stable climate and healthy environment. The Advisory Board has the top-flight expertise and experience needed to help us reach our goal of providing sustainable energy for all by 2030,” said the Secretary-General.  “This initiative represents a new era of partnership with the World Bank. Working together, I am confident we can help to transform the world’s energy systems.”  

“More than 1.2 billion people don’t have access to electricity, and another 2.8 billion use solid fuels to cook and heat their homes. This is deadly – it exposes them to toxic smoke that kills about four million people a year,” said Jim Yong Kim. “Delivering universal access to electricity and safe household fuels is a fundamental condition to end poverty. We have to meet this challenge in a sustainable way that also takes into consideration the battle against climate change.”

The Sustainable Energy for All initiative is a multi-stakeholder partnership between governments, the private sector, and civil society. Launched by the Secretary-General in 2011, it has three interlinked objectives to be achieved by 2030: provide universal access to modern energy; double the share of renewable energy in the global energy mix; and double the global rate of improvement in energy efficiency.

Advisory Board members will provide strategic guidance and serve as global ambassadors for the initiative, conducting high-level advocacy for action on energy and mobilizing stakeholders on behalf of Sustainable Energy for All. Additional Advisory Board members will be announced after further consultations with stakeholders. 

The Secretary-General today also named the members of the initiative’s 10-person Executive Committee, which is headed by Chad Holliday, Chairman of Bank of America.  In September 2012, the Secretary-General designated Mr. Kandeh Yumkella as his Special Representative for Sustainable Energy for All and chief executive of the effort.

The Sustainable Energy for All initiative brings together top-level leadership from all sectors of society, drawing on the global convening power of the United Nations and the World Bank and combining the efforts of hundreds of stakeholders from around the world.

The initiative has demonstrated the ability to mobilize multi-billion dollar commitments, leverage large-scale investments, and build upon and a rapidly expanding knowledge network. More than 70 countries have opted-in to the initiative since its launch, with support coming from every part of the world – including African energy ministers, members of the Clean Energy Ministerial, the European Commission, and the Small Island Developing States. The initiative is also mobilizing businesses, investors, and civil society to take action on "high impact initiatives" such as off-grid lighting, building energy efficiency, energy and women's health, and the procurement of renewable energy.

Advisory Board members and Affiliations:

Private Sector

José Manuel Entrecanales, Chairman and CEO, Acciona

Michael Liebreich, Chief Executive Officer, Bloomberg New Energy Finance

Jean-Marc Ollagnier, Group Chief Executive, Accenture Resources

Lutaf R. Kassam, Group Managing Director, Industrial Promotion Services Limited

Mustapha Bakkoury, Chief Executive Officer, Moroccan Agency for Solar Energy

Helge Lund, CEO, Statoil

Ceri Powell, VP of World Wide Exploration, Royal Dutch Shell

Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, CEO and Managing Director, MASDAR

Civil Society, Foundations, and Eminent Personality

Julia Marton-Lefèvre, Director General, IUCN

Mary Robinson, President, Mary Robinson Foundation

Strive Masiyiwa, Founder, Carbon War Room; Executive Chairman, Econet Wireless

Reema Nanavaty, Secretary-General, Self-Employed Women’s Association

Klaus Schwab, Executive Chairman, World Economic Forum

Ratan Tata, Former Chair, Tata Group

Sheila Oparaocha, Executive-Secretary, Energia

Finance Institutions

Donald Kaberuka, President, African Development Bank       

Luis Alberto Moreno, President, Inter-American Development Bank

Government Officials

Edison Lobão, Ministry of Mines and Energy, Brazil       

Christian Friis Bach, Development Minister, Denmark

Andris Piebalgs, Development Commissioner, European Commission    

Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia, Minister of Power, India

Elizabeth Dipuo Peters, Minister of Energy, South Africa           

Gunilla Carlsson, Minister of Development Cooperation, Sweden

Justine Greening, Secretary of State for International Development, United Kingdom       

Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson, President, Iceland       

HRH Prince Abdulaziz bin Salman Al-Saud, Deputy Minister, Petroleum & Mineral Resources, Saudi Arabia

Michael Spindelegger, Foreign Minister and Vice Chancellor of Austria

UN Organizations

Margaret Chan, Director-General, World Health Organization

Achim Steiner, Executive Director, UN Environment Programme

Helen Clark, Administrator, UN Development Programme and Chair, UNDG

Gyan Chandra Acharya, UN High Representative, Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States 

International Organizations

Suleiman Jasir Al-Herbish, Director General, OPEC Fund for International Development

Maria van der Hoeven, Executive Director, International Energy Agency

Adnan Amin, Director General, International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

Executive Committee members:

Heikki Holmås, Development Minister, Norway

Luciano Coutinho, President, Brazilian Development Bank

Brian Dames, Chief Executive Officer, Eskom

Rachel Kyte, Vice President for Sustainable Development, World Bank

Robert Orr, Assistant Secretary-General for Strategic Planning, United Nations

Leena Srivastava, Executive Director, The Energy and Resources Institute (India)

Andrew Steer, President, World Resources Institute

Timothy Wirth, Vice Chair, UN Foundation

Carlos Pascual, Special Envoy and Coordinator for International Energy Affairs, U.S. State Dept.

Klaus Rudischhauser, Deputy Director General (EuropeAid), European Commission

Media Contacts
In New York
Cynthia Scharf
Tel : (+1 917) 825 1494
In Washington
Christophet Neal
Tel : (+1 202) 473 2049
In Washington for Broadcast Requests
Natalia Cieslik
Tel : (+1 202) 458 9369