This page in:

PRESS RELEASE

Fifth and Final Riparian Meetings on Rogun Assessment Studies

July 18, 2014

Almaty, July 18, 2014 – The fifth information-sharing and consultation meetings on the Assessment Studies for the proposed Rogun Hydropower Project (Rogun HPP) took place on July 14-18 to discuss the draft Techno-Economic Assessment Study (TEAS) Phase 2 Summary Report and the draft Environmental and Social Impact Assessment (ESIA) report with 46 civil society groups and government officials from all six riparian countries (Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan).

The reports discussed this week are the draft final reports of the Assessment Studies, which were prepared by an international consultant consortium led by Coyne & Bellier for the TEAS and by Poyry Energy Ltd. for the ESIA. The topics covered in these reports and discussed during the riparian meetings include dam safety, water management and reservoir operation, economic and financial analysis, implementation and risks, environmental and social impacts, impact on riparian countries, analysis of alternatives, and others.

“These meetings are the culmination of four years of state-of-the-art, independent analysis by international experts,” said Anna Bjerde, World Bank Director for Strategy and Operations in Europe and Central Asia, who chaired the meetings. “Throughout this process we have been committed to ensuring that the studies meet the highest standards for technical quality, transparency, and consultation.”

The fifth consultation and comment period closes on July 29, 2014. The Assessment Studies for the proposed Rogun HPP are then planned to be finalized in August, after comments from riparian governments and civil society stakeholders have been carefully considered.

According to the draft consultants’ reports and the independent Panels of Experts, it is feasible to build and operate a dam at the Rogun site within modern international norms but contingent on incorporating the experts’ recommendations on modifying the original design, implementing the mitigation measures, and establishing monitoring systems throughout the life of any future project.

The World Bank and the Government of Tajikistan disclosed the draft documents in English and Russian on June 17. The presentations made during the meetings are publicly available at www.worldbank.org/eca/rogun and comments will be accepted until July 29, 2014, via email rogunconsult@worldbank.org or can be mailed to the World Bank Country Offices.

Contacts:

In Almaty: Elena Karaban, Tel: (727) 377-8220, ekaraban@worldbank.org

In Astana: Shynar Jetpissova, Tel: (7172) 580-555, sjetpissova@worldbank.org

In Ashgabat: Oraz Sultanov, Tel: (993) 12 262099, osultanov@worldbank.org

In Bishkek: Dinara Akmatbekova, Tel: (996) 312 625-235, dakmatbekova@worldbank.org

In Dushanbe: Nigina Alieva, Tel: (992 48) 701 58 07, nalieva1@worldbank.org

In Kabul: Raouf Zia, Tel: +93700280800, azia@worldbank.org 

In Tashkent: Matluba Mukhamedova, Tel: (998-71)-238-5950, mmukhamedova@worldbank.org

In Washington: Heather Worley, Tel.: (202) 489 2736, hworley@worldbank.org