Learn how the World Bank Group is helping countries with COVID-19 (coronavirus). Find Out

Skip to Main Navigation
Events

Will COVID-19 Derail the Quest for Universal Health Coverage in East Asia and the Pacific?

October 6, 2020

Recording available

MULTIMEDIA

Image
click
VIDEO

Click to replay the webcast.



Click on the image above to replay the webcast. 

Tuesday October 6 | 9 pm Washington DC
Wednesday October 7 | 8 am Bangkok
Wednesday October 7 | 12 noon Sydney
Wednesday October 7 | 1 pm Suva

  • We are facing an unprecedented economic and health shock due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Current projections indicate economic contractions across a number of low- and middle-income East Asian and Pacific countries. The impact of COVID-19 on the overall level and allocation of public spending for health remains uncertain.

    Join this panel of government officials to discuss public health spending policies in the time of COVID-19.

    OPENING REMARKS

    Victoria KWAKWA 
    Vice President
    East Asia and the Pacific Region
    World Bank

     

    SCENE SETTING

    Ajay TANDON
    Lead Economist
    World Bank

     

    MODERATOR 

    Daniel DULITZKY 
    Regional Director
    Human Development
    East Asia and the Pacific Region
    World Bank

     

    PANELISTS

    Dr. Febrio KACARIBU  
    Head of the Fiscal Policy Bureau 
    Ministry of Finance
    Indonesia   

    Dr. Tran Thi Mai OANH 
    Director of the Health Strategy and Policy Institute 
    Ministry of Health
    Vietnam

    Pauline MCNEIL  
    Permanent Secretary
    Ministry of Health and Medical Services 
    Solomon Islands 

    Bounleua SINXAYVORAVONG 
    Deputy Minister of Finance
    Ministry of Finance
    Lao PDR

    This event is hosted by the World Bank East Asia & Pacific Region Chief Economist and Human Development team.