Learn how the World Bank Group is helping countries with COVID-19 (coronavirus). Find Out

Skip to Main Navigation
Events

How Can Art help Prevent Gender Based Violence during COVID-19 and beyond?

August 29, 2020

Online

Image
  • Gender-based violence (GBV) is widespread around the world, in rich and poor societies. It exists under many different forms: physical, sexual, emotional, and economic. GBV takes places in homes, communities, schools, and workplaces. 

    According to a 2013 World Health Organization study, more than 35% of women worldwide have experienced physical or sexual partner violence or non-partner sexual violence. Gender-based violence is a human rights violation and has drastic impacts for development..  

    During every type of emergency - whether economic crises, conflict or disease outbreak— instances of GBV increase. During the COVID-19 pandemic, lockdowns and other measures taken by governments to limit the spread of the virus have contributed to an increase in GBV. In addition to many other solutions that have been explored, young bloggers, journalists, civil society leaders and development practitioners will discuss the role that art can play in the development process in Africa, and specifically in the area of GBV.  

    About the conversation 

    Art for Change: Using Art to Prevent Gender-Based Violence in the Age of COVID-19 

    Join Dimpho Lekgeu, the 2020 Blog4Dev winner for South Africa, in a conversation with Africa’s youth on the role that art can play in the development process to prevent GBV in African countries.  

    The conversation will also introduce Art4Dev, a growing long-term partnership between Youth Transforming Africa, a community built from the Blog4Dev network, and the World Bank Group Art Program.  

    About Youth Transforming Africa  

    Youth Transforming Africa (YTA) is a community built from the Blog4Dev network, gathering the winners of an annual competition organized by the World Bank in Africa through social media, events and through the blog platform, Youth Transforming Africa. So far, 70 people covering 38 countries are part of YTA, and they are joined by a large community of young Africans interested in the continent’s development. With more than 3,000 followers on Facebook, the YTA community regularly organizes roundtables on development topics to allow dialogue among Africa’s youth, and prepare some youth-grown solutions to influence policymaking in Africa. 

  • Marina Glavani

    Art Curator and Sr. Program Manager, World Bank Art Program

    Diana Jimena Arango

    Sr. Gender Specialist

    Hector Mgiba and SIbusiso

    Social Entrepreneurs and founders of Sneakers4Change (South Africa)

    Puno Selesho

    Poem recital

Details

  • PLACE: Online
  • DATE: Saturday, August 29, 2020
  • TIME: 5:00pm EAT, 4:00pm CAT, 2:00pm GMT, 10:00am EST
Register to receive the connection details using this link