Learn how the World Bank Group is helping countries with COVID-19 (coronavirus). Find Out

Events

International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia (IDAHOTB) 2020

May 18-22, 2020

Virtual

MULTIMEDIA


World Bank Group


Breaking the Silence

Follow the conversation and interact with us through Twitter, Facebook or Instagram by using #IDAHOTB2020 #BreakingTheSilence #InclusionMatters

 

Tune-in to the World Bank's live panel at 8:30am EDT this Monday, May 18:

https://live.worldbank.org/cost-exclusion-international-day-against-homophobia-transphobia-biphobia

 

Follow @WBG_SocialDev on Twitter here!

  • For the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia (IDAHOTB) 2020 commemoration from May 18 to 22, the World Bank (WBG), the Asian Development Bank (ADB), the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) will collaborate on a virtual program of events that will have as their focus research and data for “breaking the silence,” which is this year’s IDAHOTB theme.

    The events throughout this week will highlight the important role the MDBs are called to play in closing the SOGI data gap and will discuss ongoing and potential innovative approaches to data generation and evidence-based policymaking in their client countries.

    By virtually bringing together key SOGI research experts, policymakers, development professionals, and LGBTI civil society organizations, the joint IDAHOTB commemoration will draw attention to the discrimination, exclusion, and violence LGBTI people face globally and provide a platform to highlight successful examples of SOGI-inclusive data generation.

  • The World Bank Group, Asian Development Bank, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, and Inter-American Development Bank are organizing a host of staff activities to commemorate IDAHOTB, including: 

    Panel discussions:

              8:30 - 9:30am EDT | 1:30 - 2:30pm GMT | 8:30 - 9:30pm PHT

              WATCH THE VIDEO RECORDING

     

              4:00 - 5:00am EDT | 9:00 - 10:00am GMT | 4:00 - 5:00pm PHT

              WATCH THE VIDEO RECORDING

     

    • Friday, May 22: Datos para la Igualdad

              11:00am - 12:00pm EDT | 4:00 - 5:00pm GMT | 11:00pm - 12:00am PHT

              Please RSVP          JOIN THE EVENT HERE

     

    GLOBE (LGBT+ employee resource group) events:

    • Thursday, May 21: Keeping the Light: Coping with COVID and Effects on the LGBTQ+ Community

              9:00 - 10:00am EDT | 2:00 - 3:00pm GMT | 9:00 - 10:00pm PHT

     

    World Bank Country Office events:

    • Lunes, 18 de mayo: Seminario Regional: Atraer el talento diverso “sector público v/s privado
              1:00 - 2:00pm EDT | 6:00 - 7:00pm GMT | 1:00 - 2:00am PHT
     
              Please RSVP          Join the event
     
     
  • Image

    Juergen Voegele

    Vice President, Sustainable Development Practice Group, World Bank Group

    Image

    Mattia Romani

    Managing Director, Economics, Policy and Governance, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

    Image

    M. V. Lee Badgett

    Professor, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

    Image

    Finn Reygan

    Research Director and Strategic Lead (Acting), Human Science Research Council

    Image

    WooChong Um

    Director General, Sustainable Development and Climate Change Department, Asian Development Bank

    Image

    Timo Ojanen, PhD

    Faculty of Learning Sciences and Education, Thammasat University, Bangkok

    Image

    Sarita KC

    Director, Mitini Nepal

    Image

    Ramil Andag

    SOGIESC Rights Officer, APCOM

    Image

    Yiu-tung Suen

    Assistant Professor of the Gender Studies Program, and Founding Director of the Sexualities Research Program, Chinese University of Hong Kong

    Marcelo Cabrol

    Social Sector Manager, Inter-American Development Bank

    Image

    Louise Cord

    Director, Social Development Global Practice, World Bank

    Image

    Victor Madrigal-Borloz

    Independent Expert on protection against violence and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity, United Nations

    Alba Rueda

    Undersecretary for Diversity Politics, Ministry for Women, Gender and Diversity, Government of Argentina