World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon visit Syrian refugees in the Zaatari refugee camp in Jordan earlier this year. © Dominic Chavez/World Bank
WORLD HUMANITARIAN SUMMIT
At the World Humanitarian Summit in Istanbul, World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim outlined how multilateral development banks could help with humanitarian crises. “The humanitarian and development communities must come together to support the 60 million people who are displaced,” he said.Read More »

Valuepark Terneuzen in the southwest of the Netherlands is a location for chemical production and distribution. © Hollandluchtfoto/Getty Images
WORLD BANK LIVE
The role of the private sector in developing actions in response to climate change will be discussed Tues. at 3 a.m. ET/07:00 GMT. Follow #D4climate.

A young man smokes in China. © Curt Carnemark/World Bank
WORLD BANK LIVE
George Akerlof, Nobel laureate in economics, opens a discussion about tobacco taxes, Tues. at 9 a.m. ET/13:00 GMT. Follow #Tax4Dev.

NEWSLETTER

DATA

The size and share of all aid going to humanitarian assistance is rising. Responding to long-term crises requires greater partnership between humanitarian and development actors that goes beyond financing to include development-oriented planning around prevention, preparation, and response.
Read More »
 

More Data »

Highlights

Events & Consultations

In depth